Really think about the man box.

So I was watching the funny video from Ellen that Amanda posted on the Haunted House. And seeing how Andy was being made fun of for being scared and hiding behind Amy? I can’t remember their names but the point is the male producer was scared and being teased for it. And I don’t know if it was just me, but it all came to me. Yes, the man box prevents men from being emotional. Like being afraid, sad, confused, lonely, heartbroken, distraught, frustrated, hurt, betrayed. Men aren’t supposed to be tender, vulnerable, or soft. And that bothers me. Emotion is what makes us human. So then I had another thought. As a woman, I can’t count the number of times I have preached and gone on about the sexual objectification of women. Women are seen as objects or tools to be used. But only now do I see how men’s objectification is a huge deal too. Maybe men aren’t objectified. But they are certainly dehumanized. Because if a person is not free to feel in their lives, then they are not truly experiencing life. 

And then I came back to my Invisible Knapsack. I can add another privilege to my list I have always taken for granted. I can feel whatever emotion I want, at anytime or place. And yeah. Sure if I cry in public people might make a remark like “she’s a girl; its expected.” Because emotions are associated with women. But you know, I no longer see that as an insult. Sure its sexist and ignorant, but who’s the real victim here? At least I can show when I’m hurt. I don’t have to strip myself of what makes me human so that I am accepted by society. Think about it. Because I can only think of one time I have EVER seen a man cry. And I was the only other person in the room. A girl can cry in public and people will at least accept it. Should a man cry in public he’d be disgraced. Its unheard of. Just food for thought.

Leave a Reply

