Half the Sky- Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn

Half the Sky- Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn

This book has been my life changer. I read this as a requirement for a language class in high school, and it has been the strongest aspect in both my academic and career decisions. Half the Sky addresses the oppression of women world wide in a moving yet frank way. This book allows for no hiding from the truth. I found myself crying for young women being stoned to death and throwing the book across the room after the rape of a three year old child was described. This is an account of crimes against humanity, targeting women. I could go on and on about the book, but I do plan to bring it in for show and tell so I want to save some for later. Please, check it out. It may be hard to get through, but I promise the rewards are great. It’s not only a book of tragedy, but also of perseverance and hope. I believe we owe it to the women overcoming these circumstances to keep ourselves informed and aware of their suffering.

Leave a Reply

