Gay sex-ed

Gay sex-ed

So in primary school we are typically taught sex-ed, but it is always about heterosexual relationships and sexual encounters. I was curious if any schools in the state also teach children about safe sex in homosexual relationships. I didn’t find anything specifically regarding the U.S. but I found an article about Scotland teaching students about homosexual sex-ed, which is really rad. I personally think that if at a younger age we were taught about these things as we grew up we would be less likely to shun those who live that lifestyle. I know that as a child if I were taught about it I would have probably been more comfortable in my own skin and possibly would’ve been more accepted by my peers and bullied less.. but that’s just a personal opinion.

2 thoughts on “Gay sex-ed

  1. I think what you’re pointing out is one of the more insidious aspects of compulsory heterosexuality.

    My current impression of sexual education is that it boils down to “sex=reproduction” which, in turn means, “sex=heterosexual intercourse.” Even elementary sex ed, when oncoming puberty is discussed, explains that these things are happening to your body so that you can have a baby (which, I hope, someday won’t be so associated with only heterosexual relationships – but that’s another discussion).

    There are a lot of calls to rethink sex education to teach girls that sex is as much about their pleasure and figuring out what they like as it is their partners, but even these discussion usually take place within an assumed heterosexual norm.

    I also find the particular spin of the article you’ve posted interesting. How often do we read news criticizing education that simply informs students about their world as “indoctrinating” them?

    • You’re completely right. I was thinking more along the lines of safe sex, prevention of STD’s, but I completely get where you’re coming from. It’s not often we read about that at all.

Leave a Reply

