Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie at TEDxEuston

This is a TED talk by a Nigerian novelist about feminism. She speaks about her experiences as a woman in Nigeria, and her experiences identifying as a feminist.

I found this particular quotation interesting, both in light of our conversations after watching Tony Porter’s TED talk and because I’m currently raising a son, so these are topics very much on my mind:

“We must raise our sons differently. We do a great disservice to boys in how we raise them. We stifle the humanity of boys. We define masculinity in a very narrow way. Masculinity becomes this hard, small cage, and we put boys inside the cage. We teach boys to be afraid of fear, weakness, and vulnerability. We teach them to mask their true selves. And then we do a much greater disservice to girls because we raise them to cater to the fragile egos of men. We teach girls to shrink themselves, to make themselves smaller. We say to girls, you can have ambition, but not too much. You should aim to be successful but not too successful, otherwise you will threaten the man.”

Also pertinent:

“I have chosen to no longer be apologetic for my femaleness and for my femininity. And I want to be respected in all of my femaleness, because I deserve to be.”

Leave a Reply

