Privileges

I write these as a young, able, educated, middle class, white, heterosexual female.

1) I may go to a religious building of my choice and know that I will not be turned away or treated with any negativity because of my sexual orientation.

2) I may show affection to friends of the same sex and know that they will not feel uncomfortable or affronted because of my sexual orientation.

3) I may pass through any retail or security clearance and know that I will not be unreasonably searched due to my race or ethnicity.

4) I may sit in class, read textbooks, and participate in class discussions without being asked uncomfortable questions due to my race or ethnicity.

5) I may enter any type of facility without worry over whether or not there will be adequate accommodations for me.

6) I may make decisions regarding my daily activities freely and independently without concern whether there will be someone to assist me or if I will be considered a hindrance to another.

7) I may smile at or talk to children/young adults/females in a public place without concern whether they (or their parents) will see me as a threat due to my race, ethnicity, gender, or sexual orientation.

8) I may seek work in child care without undue background and criminal checks due to race, ethnity, gender, or sexual orientation.

9) I may have an interest in children, baking, clothing, and Disney movies without my gender or sexual orientation being called into question.

10) I may seek a job without worry over whether my race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or ableness will effect my superior’s opinion.

11) I may pick a favorite Disney princess with the odds that she will be the same race and sexual orientation as I.

12) I may go out with friends freely without concern that they or another will make awkward/inappropriate jokes due  to my race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, age, or ableness.

13) I may easily find a romantic partner without concern over the selection at my age or because of my sexual orientation.

14) I may go out in public without fear that a child will ask their parent why I look or act funny because of race, ethnicity, disability, or age.

15) I may know that in many cases I am considered in the “majority”.

One thought on “Privileges

Leave a Reply

