Muriel’s Knapsack

The following is a list of 15 privleges. I am a 20 year old, white, single, educated, non-disabled woman from the United States of America.

1. I am allowed to attend Saint Louis University.

2. I have good health that allows me to learn and live independently.

3. I have a car that I can drive wherever I’d like to go.

4. I have a beautiful family who pays for me to travel, go to college, and more.

5. I am allowed to use the facilities at public places.

6. I am allowed to drink out of whatever water fountain I desire.

7. I have running water in my home.

8. I can afford to buy food that prevents me from starving.

9. I am allowed to walk into any building on Saint Louis University’s campus.

10. I am allowed to vote.

11. I am allowed to pick whatever major/minor I want to study.

12.  I am allowed to take leadership positions in the clubs I am involved in on campus.

13. I know that I will not be judged because of the color of my skin inside American airports.

14. I am able to attend a private, Jesuit, Catholic University.

15. I am able to wear whatever clothes I want.

Leave a Reply

